Review : Laura Mercier Mineral Powder SPF 15

Another summer foundation review? YES 🙂 well, it’s summer…and I have a horrible obsession with trying new foundations and when else better to use mineral foundations than summer?

Ingredients : 

Active Ingredient – Zinc Oxide. Ingredient: Pearl Powder. May Contain (+/-): Mica (CI 77019), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

What it claims :

“Helps clear the skin of toxins, promotes healthy skin cell growth, and fights the aging process. Oil-free and water-resistant, it can be applied either as a buildable foundation or a pigmented powder.”

My Thoughts :

I have actually used this mineral foundation before and I don’t even know why I stopped! I guess it’s because it IS quite pricey, but it is the best I have ever used. It is so quick to use. You don’t even really have to use a mirror to apply this. I just use my E.L.F kabuki brush to buff it in. It doesn’t feel like you have a TON of makeup on, which is really great for the summer when it’s just so damn hot and humid that you don’t want to feel like you’re wearing a mask, but you still want to look like you have perfect skin.

On the colors : 8/10

Sure, there aren’t like 20 different shades to choose from like Bare Escentuals, but I feel that almost anyone can find their match. I know it’s not supposed to change to your skin tone after a bit, but I feel like it does! At first, when I put it on it is a little bit light, but after I put on some blush and let it all set, it matches perfectly! I mean, if you have are like a shade or two different, obviously the color match won’t be correct, but if you’re a bit off, it does work out in the end!

On the coverage : 10/10

The coverage of this mineral foundation is really great! You don’t need too much to cover a lot. After a minute of buffing this in, all my redness is gone and my acne is concealed. The only thing is that I need to use concealer to cover up some acne scars, but seriously, just by covering up my redness so well, I am willing to go the extra step. A lot of you may feel that it doesn’t deserve 10/10, but really, even if I use a liquid foundation with more coverage, I usually still need a concealer to cover up my acne scarring. This does exactly what I want it to do. COVER REDNESS and even out my skin tone while still leaving it glowing, but NOT GREASY. So hence, the 10/10.

On the lasting power : 8/10

The lasting power of this is alright. After 5 or 6 hours, I do need to reapply, but that’s in the humid weather of Hong Kong. When I’m back in the states, it DOES get a bit better, but I haven’t really tried this out in the winter yet, so I’m not sure. I usually blot my face, spritz with some Fix+, then reapply on my T-zone and outer cheek areas.

What I don’t like :

The main thing that I dislike is the fact that it contains Titanium Dioxide, which makes it have a white cast in flash photography. It’s not as bad as the Lioele BB Cream I did a review on, but I usually don’t wear it at night. If I need to go out at night, I usually remove all my makeup and reapply a different NON-SPF foundation.

Overall : 9/10

This mineral foundation is definitely the best out there! It is more expensive than other ones like the Bare Escentual ones are like around $20 – $25? This one retails for $35. Although I haven’t personally tried the Bare Escentual ones, I have heard from some of my friends that it’s not as great and hyped up as people make it to be. I don’t know why, but I’ve never really been drawn toward Bare Escentuals. I hear all these great things, but one day I was looking for a mineral foundation and I suddenly just reached for this Laura Mercier one! And I have not regretted it once!

Tip : 

Need more coverage and not want to use concealer? Try using a BB cream or tinted moisturizer under it to give you a bit more staying power and coverage without feeling like you have a ton of makeup on!

Places to purchase :

http://www.sephora.com/mineral-powder-spf-15-P181802

http://www.lauramercier.com/store/shop/Foundations_Mineral-Powder-SPF-15_prod210055

I hope you like this review!

Love,

Carmen@Shinenotglimmer

Leave a Reply

